image of school supplies and chalkboard
School Council Members

For the current school year, the members are as follows:

Joseph Scozzaro, Principal, co-chair

Hannah Cohen, SHS Social Studies

Emily Garr, SHS Social Studies, co-chair

Jeff Strunin, SHS English

Stacey Newman, SPS Instructional Technology

Bonnie Klane, Community Representative

Kirstin Gray, Parent

Zhongliang Ju, Parent

Lucy Wang, Parent

Lilly Zhou, Parent

Sophie Hu, Student (Grade 9)

Alisha Mehta, Student (Gr 10)

Grace Hu, Student (Grade 11)

Ruemon Bhattacharyya, Student (Grade 12)

School Council

In accordance with the Massachusetts Education Reform Act of 1993, Sharon High School has a functioning and representative School Council that convenes on a regular basis during each school year. Co-led by the principal, the group includes several students, parents, faculty, and community members. Its primary purpose is to serve as a vehicle for assisting the principal in the development of the school’s annual improvement plan. To that end, it calls for the inclusive participation of various stakeholders who are willing and able to provide different perspectives about the school’s needs.

Council Membership Parameters

In order to help facilitate a sense of focused continuity from one school year to the next, Sharon High School has established a set of parameters to help govern membership composition on its School Council. These guidelines were created by the School Council during the 2005-2006 school year and were subsequently approved by the School Committee. Updated in the fall of 2013, they can be found at one of the links below. They adhere to all state laws that guide the management, intent, and responsibilities of School Councils. For answers to inquiries pertinent to the School Council at Sharon High School, please contact Joseph Scozzaro, Principal of Sharon High School. For general information about School Councils and the Massachusetts Education Reform Act of 1993, please follow the other link below to the website for the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.

SHS School Council Membership Structure

DESE School Council Information